Login | Register

All times are UTC - 7 hours

It is currently 2019-Oct-19 3:26 am

Post subject: Happy
AgePosted: 2013-Apr-24 7:29 pm 

Yes, I'm happy. Happy, because I just got hold of a Phyrexian Tower. Maybe I could've tried harder and got hold of it sooner, as it isn't the rarest of cards. It's not an easy card to get though, every time I shop I check for availability and I haven't seen a shop (in Holland) that had them in store. We're talking years, not months.

The thing is, I had a Phyrexian Tower years ago. I started playing when Ice Age was brand new, but between Visions and Nemesis my M:TG involvement was... well, hibernating. During that time my collection of M:TG related items increased mostly because of the Inquest magazine I bought regularly. Around the time Nemesis was released, Inquest printed a deck with Delraich. If you know Inquest, you probably know that the decks they wrote about are usually untested (I doubt any of the writers ever, and hence pretty terrible. That's besides the point though. What triggered me was the picture of Delraich and it's accompanying quote: "tastes like chicken". I might have a poor sense of humor, but I found that to be entertaining. The goal of the deck was to cheat Delraich into play and proceed to win. Cheating it into play involved Sengir Autocrat (Gargamel and the smurfs), a card I owned because I invested heavily in Homelands boosters to get that illusive Baron Sengir. Anyway, I went out and got a Phyrexian Tower. Not long after I discovered that the deck sucked, and that playing a four mana card to get a 6/6 sucks (the idea might seem laughable now, but creatures generally had a higher casting cost then), that rebels suck (but that Massacre is great), that Masques block sucks. I was saved by Invasion block. Invasion meant that Phyrexian Tower rotated from standard, so it went in my binder. I think I traded it for an Entomb or something, I don't recall exactly. But at least after 10 years and more, I own a Phyre