Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Nov-11 1:01 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: progenitus question?
AgePosted: 2009-Mar-06 1:29 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Jan-08 10:10 pm
Age: Drake
Location: Colorado
my apologies if this has been covered elsewhere. if it has i've yet to see it. if progenitus is my general and wrath of god hits, will it in fact shuffle back in?
EDH play rule #10 states:

If a General would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, its owner may remove it from the game instead. (This is a replacement effect.. the creature never goes to the graveyard and will not trigger abilities on going to the graveyard)

... so i'm inclined to think that it wont shuffle and will function as a normal general. can anyone confirm this? i've seen alot of posts to the effect that proggy does shuffle upon death so i figured i should get an official answer here. thanks


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: progenitus question?
AgePosted: 2009-Mar-06 1:45 pm 

Joined: 2008-Jan-25 8:26 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Calgary
When the Progenitus goes to the graveyard there are two replacement effects trying to act on it, EDH Rule 10 and the printed text on the card.

Quote:
419.9a. If two or more replacement or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply.

You get to choose which replacement effect takes precedence. The other is ignored as the event was already replaced.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Mar-06 3:08 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Jan-08 10:10 pm
Age: Drake
Location: Colorado
gotcha. many thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baron Cappuccino and 44 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: