Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Jun-16 6:51 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 235 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-02 11:57 am 

Joined: 2014-Sep-13 7:28 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Chiky wrote:
Dumb question: Can I use proxy basic lands in my deck? Let's say the thickness of the cardboard is the same, can basic lands be proxied in commander? I read somewhere that as it's not a DCI sanctioned format you could proxy basic lands for normal tournaments, but i'm not sure if it's actually true...

You can't use proxies or fakes in any sanctioned event (except proxies of cards damaged during a particular tournament), so it depends on what you mean by normal tournament? So if it's not sanctioned, that depends on your store's view on proxies if they have one, in addition to what others mentioned; how your playgroup feels about you using alt art/thicker/fake cards.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-04 3:23 am 

Joined: 2019-Jan-27 5:38 pm
Age: Hatchling
Sid the Chicken wrote:
Chiky wrote:
Dumb question: Can I use proxy basic lands in my deck? Let's say the thickness of the cardboard is the same, can basic lands be proxied in commander? I read somewhere that as it's not a DCI sanctioned format you could proxy basic lands for normal tournaments, but i'm not sure if it's actually true...

I guess the first question I want to ask is why you would need/want to proxy basic lands - the cheapest cards out there.

Regardless, there is no official EDH rule that allows proxying of anything. As such, whether you can do this is subject to the whims of whomever you are playing with.


It'd be for custom art :)
I don't know how proxy works compared with alters for example, but alters are WAY more expensive


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-04 3:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Dec-03 3:16 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Chiky wrote:
Sid the Chicken wrote:
Chiky wrote:
Dumb question: Can I use proxy basic lands in my deck? Let's say the thickness of the cardboard is the same, can basic lands be proxied in commander? I read somewhere that as it's not a DCI sanctioned format you could proxy basic lands for normal tournaments, but i'm not sure if it's actually true...

I guess the first question I want to ask is why you would need/want to proxy basic lands - the cheapest cards out there.

Regardless, there is no official EDH rule that allows proxying of anything. As such, whether you can do this is subject to the whims of whomever you are playing with.


It'd be for custom art :)
I don't know how proxy works compared with alters for example, but alters are WAY more expensive


So first directly from the MTR:

"Artistic modifications are acceptable in sanctioned tournaments, provided that the modifications do not make the card art unrecognizable, contain substantial strategic advice, or contain offensive images. Artistic modifications also may not obstruct or change the mana cost or name of the card.
The Head Judge is the final authority on acceptable cards for a tournament." http://www.wizards.com/contentresources/wizards/wpn/main/documents/magic_the_gathering_tournament_rules_pdf1.pdf

It cannot be Marked:

"Players are responsible for ensuring that their cards and/or card sleeves are not marked during the course of the tournament. A card or sleeve is considered marked if it bears something that makes it possible to identify the card without seeing its face, including scratches, discoloration, and bends.
If a player’s cards are sleeved, the cards must be examined while in the sleeves to determine if they are marked. Players should use care when sleeving their decks and should randomize their decks prior to sleeving them to reduce the possibility of cards becoming marked with a pattern. Players should also keep in mind that cards or sleeves may become worn and potentially marked through play during the course of a tournament.
The Head Judge has the authority to determine if a card in a player’s deck is marked. Judges may request that a player remove his or her current sleeves or replace any of the deck’s current sleeves immediately, or before the next round. "

So if you were to print out a card it would be considered illegal/proxy. If you were to print out a new face and glue it that would change the thickness and it would be a marked card.If you printed directly on an actual card that would likely not change the thickness but you are flirting with some illegalness as well. Now if you are not playing in a tournament/card shop and instead playing at a friends house that all that really matters is your friends opinions. If they don't care than do it, if they do then you have to either comply or convince.

_________________
Shabbaman wrote:
The usual answer is "the social contract", but I guess that is not what you are looking for. Try house rules.


With perfect mana, reasonable removal, disruption, and card advantage, we're back to pitchforks and torches. And it's about to get worse for those who do not enjoy the game as Richard Garfield intended, playing as few win conditions as possible and prompting concession after all hopes (and spells) are lost. - Shaheen Soorani


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-04 3:57 am 

Joined: 2019-Jan-27 5:38 pm
Age: Hatchling
that's really helpful, thank you :)
I'll ask my friend if they are okay with that


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-05 1:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Feb-07 4:15 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Fun fact, there is a corner case where proxies are now officially legal and sometimes mandatory in Legacy and Vintage!

Apparently Kess, Dissident Mage has become playable in those formats. Since she was printed in a precon, literally all versions of her are foil, which means that a great many of them are heavily warped and therefore break the thickness rule. Therefore, in order to play her in your deck, you need to go show your deck to a judge, who will provide you with proxies for the Kess's.

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-06 8:30 am 

Joined: 2014-Sep-13 7:28 am
Age: Elder Dragon
That only applies if your foils are curled, or if she's your only foil and too curled. Also notable, you can't get already damaged cards proxied for an event unless it's in Kess's situation (only comes in foil). I've played Kess (and alters) in large sanctioned Vintage and Legacy events with no issues, but my cards are flat though (and a lot of it is foil so they would blend in mostly the same anyway). Kess was sort of (temporarily) soft banned by CFB when judges wouldn't allow proxies at first but then they created checklist cards for them.

There was a pic of a proxy a judge made for a Kess once that was quite laughable, actually. They put a sticky note onto a card. Ugh.

But also, don't do anything suspicious like 58 nonfoils and 2 foil Jace, or 60 nonfoils but 15 foil sb cards.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Jun-05 10:19 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Mar-28 12:38 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Otaria
Quick question on split cards that have two separate card types (e.g., Struggle//Survive or Discovery//Dispersal):

When they're not on the stack, they still have both card types, right?

Example:

Can Nucklavee return Struggle//Survive from a graveyard even though the "red half" is an instant, not a sorcery?

_________________
Cryogen wrote:
The last thing we need is more Cromat decks running around, and if keeping CV banned accomplishes that then I'd call it a win.


Current Deckbuilding Project(s):

Izoni, Thousand Eyed (Elf Tribal-ish)
Building $15-25 Intro to Commander Decks for my Local LGS


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Jun-05 10:25 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Nov-27 4:39 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Midgard
Jeyal wrote:
Quick question on split cards that have two separate card types (e.g., Struggle//Survive or Discovery//Dispersal):

When they're not on the stack, they still have both card types, right?

Example:

Can Nucklavee return Struggle//Survive from a graveyard even though the "red half" is an instant, not a sorcery?

Yes, the card has both card types when in any zone not the stack. Rule 708.4 covers what a split card's characteristics are in this case.

Comprehensive Rules wrote:
708.4c A split card has each card type specified on either of its halves and each ability in the text box of each half.

_________________
Current:
Decklists are posted here. They can all be found in the Decklist Forum.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Jun-05 10:51 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Mar-28 12:38 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Otaria
That's what I had thought, just had a spot of nagging doubt. Say thankya.

_________________
Cryogen wrote:
The last thing we need is more Cromat decks running around, and if keeping CV banned accomplishes that then I'd call it a win.


Current Deckbuilding Project(s):

Izoni, Thousand Eyed (Elf Tribal-ish)
Building $15-25 Intro to Commander Decks for my Local LGS


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2019-Jun-05 3:16 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Feb-07 4:15 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Interesting development: now that Modern Horizons has printed Kess, the aforementioned fact of mine earlier on this page will presumably no longer be true going forward, as there will be plenty of nonfoil versions of her.

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 235 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 12, 13, 14, 15, 16

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 52 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: