Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Jul-15 3:51 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 242 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 17  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-28 10:21 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Jul-18 9:59 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
For the purposes of Experiment Kraj, activated abilities that include the card's name get copied exactly, or with "Experiment Kraj" in place of the original name? I've always assumed the second, but I want to be sure.

You are correct. Abilities that refer to their card name actually say "this card" for the purposes of copying those abilities.

_________________
"Degenerate, unfun decks generally come from degenerate, unfun players in my experience." - Cthulus Thrall

"- if this spell is played ten times in a given game then I suggest you warm up the tar and pluck some chickens" - tarnar

The internet's great at making noise, and poor at operating pants. There's gonna be half-dressed mobs screeching half-assed arguments for the rest of the 21st century - Kemev


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-28 11:05 am 

Joined: 2015-Jan-14 2:58 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
That's what I thought. Thanks.

_________________
Deepglow Skate
Antis wrote:
I'm seriously suspicious of any card that makes Doubling Season look fair and reasonable.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-28 4:03 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Feb-07 4:15 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
So, I have a rules question regarding Daretti, Scrap Savant and Possessed Portal

If I use the Portal's ability to sacrifice a card, since both it and Daretti's emblem say "end of turn", would that mean that I then have to recur that artifact then? And if so, does that mean that sacrificing the Portal causes an infinite combo of saccing it then recurring it until the end of time?

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-28 4:14 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2013-Nov-04 2:12 am
Age: Dragon
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Uktabi_Kong wrote:
So, I have a rules question regarding Daretti, Scrap Savant and Possessed Portal

If I use the Portal's ability to sacrifice a card, since both it and Daretti's emblem say "end of turn", would that mean that I then have to recur that artifact then? And if so, does that mean that sacrificing the Portal causes an infinite combo of saccing it then recurring it until the end of time?


There are two things wrong with this.

First of all, the Portal only triggers once per turn: at the start of the End step. Even if you recur the Portal during the End step its triggered ability won't trigger again until the following End step.

Also, Daretti's Emblem states that it comes back at the BEGINNING of the NEXT End step. Since you're already in the End step, it'll come back next turn. And even if it came back in the same End step, you're past "the start of the End step" so it wouldn't trigger anyway.

Either way, your "infinite draw combo" (as in, an infinite combo that leads to a draw) doesn't. You'll sac the Possessed Portal to itself, Daretti's Emblem will trigger, then at the start of the next End step you'll recur it, then at the start of the NEXT End step the Possessed Portal will trigger again (I.e. two turns later).

_________________
Regards,
MT.


Putrid Pirate Proliferation
Lord of Voltronhorn
Unlife of the Party
Jaya Ballard, Discard Mage
Zedruu and the Minotaurs
Vish Kal's ManSlaughterhouse
Izzet Any Good?

Chorus of Counters


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-28 4:28 pm 

Joined: 2013-Oct-09 7:02 am
Age: Elder Dragon
The emblem returns at the beginning of the next end step so if you sacrifice it at the end step you would get it back at the next end step, not the current one. Beginning of a phase only happens once. When things happen at the beginning then subsequent things happen "during" the phase.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-29 11:55 pm 

Joined: 2012-Jun-01 6:02 am
Age: Drake
Location: South Carolina
So if Stitcher Geralf hits Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre, Worldspine Wurm and Darksteel Colossus, What happens?

I'm pretty sure that Ulamog and Worldspine's "when this is put into your graveyard" abilities go on the stack (as they are triggered abilities) and the Colossus never actually goes to the graveyard (because it's a replacement effect), then Geralf's ability finishes resolving, which would allow it to exile Ulamog and/or the Wurm, but I'm not sure.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-30 1:02 am 

Joined: 2015-Jan-14 2:58 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
GraphiteGolem wrote:


Ragnarok?

Quote:
I'm pretty sure that Ulamog and Worldspine's "when this is put into your graveyard" abilities go on the stack (as they are triggered abilities) and the Colossus never actually goes to the graveyard (because it's a replacement effect), then Geralf's ability finishes resolving, which would allow it to exile Ulamog and/or the Wurm, but I'm not sure.


I believe you are correct.

_________________
Deepglow Skate
Antis wrote:
I'm seriously suspicious of any card that makes Doubling Season look fair and reasonable.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-30 1:06 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-30 6:08 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Colossus is never in the graveyard, so you can't pick it for Geralf. Ulamog and Worldspine are still there and can be chosen. Ulamog's trigger will go off and shuffle in the rest of your graveyard afterwards. Worldspine's trigger will also resolve, but it will not cause you to shuffle again because there is no object in the set that you are instructed to "shuffle in."

_________________
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
Cryocerete (sp?)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-30 3:05 am 

Joined: 2012-Jun-01 6:02 am
Age: Drake
Location: South Carolina
Thanks for confirming that, folks. I will put Geralf back on my list of commanders to eventually build around. :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-30 3:10 am 

Joined: 2013-Aug-20 4:37 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Boston
crokaycete wrote:
Worldspine's trigger will also resolve, but it will not cause you to shuffle again because there is no object in the set that you are instructed to "shuffle in."

They changed that in the rules after they updated the tuck rule. There is no reason to physically shuffle it again, but you are still going to trigger Cosi's Trickster or Psychogenic Probe.

Quote:
701.16c If an effect would cause a player to shuffle one or more specific objects into a library, that library is shuffled even if none of those objects are in the zone they’re expected to be in or an effect causes all of those objects to be moved to another zone or remain in their current zone.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Mar-30 2:31 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Nov-27 4:39 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Midgard
GraphiteGolem wrote:
So if Stitcher Geralf hits Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre, Worldspine Wurm and Darksteel Colossus, What happens?

I'm pretty sure that Ulamog and Worldspine's "when this is put into your graveyard" abilities go on the stack (as they are triggered abilities) and the Colossus never actually goes to the graveyard (because it's a replacement effect), then Geralf's ability finishes resolving, which would allow it to exile Ulamog and/or the Wurm, but I'm not sure.

In addition to what other people have said, please note the triggered abilities from Ulamog and Worldspine don't actually go onto the stack until after Geralf's ability is finished resolving. See, the triggers still occur mid-resolving, but nothing actually gets put onto the stack until the next time state-based actions are checked. They aren't checked mid-resolution, or that would create all kinds of crazy messes.

_________________
Current:
Decklists are posted here. They can all be found in the Decklist Forum.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Apr-04 5:17 pm 

Joined: 2010-Feb-17 1:06 pm
Age: Dragon
Location: Europe - Somewhere
If I have Vicious Shadows on the board, and an opponent plays Planar Cleansing, the shadows still trigger, right?

_________________
Play like you've got a pair.

I'm a big fan of plain old Greed. - intrepid
Greed is for pussies. Phyrexian Reclamation + Street Wraith -- twice the cost, four times the manliness. - Filth

Member of Project Every-Deck
Current EDH Decks
Mayael the Anima // Garza Sol, Plague Queen // Scion of the Ur-Dragon // Kresh the Bloodbraided // Rikku of Two Reflections // Kaalia of the Vast // Rafiq of the Many // Rakdos, Lord of Riots


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Apr-04 6:46 pm 

Joined: 2008-Aug-08 6:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rouen, France
Everblight wrote:
If I have Vicious Shadows on the board, and an opponent plays Planar Cleansing, the shadows still trigger, right?


In the same way that a Blood Artist will also "see" the other creatures dying when someone wraths, yes.

_________________
Current decks:
Sydri's random pile of cards with "Artifact" on them
Scarab God Zombie Horde
Sissay 5c Superfriends
Morophon Eldrazi (5C Devoid)
Grenzo's Goblins


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Apr-05 12:03 am 

Joined: 2013-Aug-20 4:37 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Boston
zimagic wrote:
Everblight wrote:
If I have Vicious Shadows on the board, and an opponent plays Planar Cleansing, the shadows still trigger, right?


In the same way that a Blood Artist will also "see" the other creatures dying when someone wraths, yes.

Zimagic is right, but it is worth pointing out that this won't work with Austere Command. Planar Cleansing destroys everything at once. Austere Command destroys (in order and separately because it is separate instructions) artifacts, enchantments, little guys, then big guys.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-May-22 6:32 pm 

Joined: 2012-Mar-31 11:52 am
Age: Elder Dragon
BKM, the FAQ still reflects the mana producing rule.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 242 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 17  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: