MTG Commander/Elder Dragon Highlander
http://mtgcommander.net/Forum/

Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
http://mtgcommander.net/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=15850
Page 12 of 17

Author:  Drrakus [ 2016-Sep-01 8:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

Sorry to throw you guys a curveball, but I do have a question.

If I use Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury as my commander, play Mycosynth Lattice, make her a creature with Karn, Silver Golem, play Life and Limb, and then equip Freyalise with Runed Stalactite, what is her Power/Toughness/Amount-of-commander-damage-she-deals? And if her power/toughness is different from what Karn originally made it, can I use him again to make her power/toughness what he sets it to?

Author:  Epsilon [ 2016-Sep-01 8:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

Drrakus wrote:
Sorry to throw you guys a curveball, but I do have a question.

If I use Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury as my commander, play Mycosynth Lattice, make her a creature with Karn, Silver Golem, play Life and Limb, and then equip Freyalise with Runed Stalactite, what is her Power/Toughness/Amount-of-commander-damage-she-deals? And if her power/toughness is different from what Karn originally made it, can I use him again to make her power/toughness what he sets it to?


It's going to be a 2/2 and no you can't reuse Karn.

Author:  Drrakus [ 2016-Sep-01 8:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

I forgot to ask in the first post, but what happens if Runed Stalactite gets destroyed/exiled while equipped to her before the end of the turn? Does Life and Limb completely overwrite the P/T that Karn gave her and makes her a 0/0?

Author:  specter404 [ 2016-Sep-01 12:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

So this is a layering question primarily, which is fairly complex but i'll do my best to stick to the parts that matter.

We start with the walker which becomes an artifact and then an artifact creature, no problems.
Karn makes her a 5/5 artifact creature planeswalker.
With life and limb in play, when she is equipped with runed stalactite she becomes a saproling.
Both Karn's effect and Life and limb apply in the same layer, but because life and limb happened second, it's timestamp sits on top of Karn's so that it the one that takes precedence.
Frey is now a 1/1 saproling (and all other creature types) artifact creature planeswalker
the +1 part applies in the next layer so she ends up a 2/2.

You cannot use karn on her again because she is still a creature, and karn specifies non-creature artifacts only.

If runed stalactite is destroyed frey is no longer a saproling, which means life and limb no longer effects her, karn's effect still exists so she reverts to being a 5/5 artifact creature planeswalker.

Author:  Drrakus [ 2016-Sep-02 3:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

specter404 wrote:
You cannot use karn on her again because she is still a creature, and karn specifies non-creature artifacts only.


I don't know of a better way to put it, but I feel like a moron for forgetting this.

Author:  JJackson [ 2016-Sep-02 11:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

The timestamp on Life and Limb will be from when the enchantment entered the battlefield even if it wasn't applying to Freyalise until later. She ends up a 6/6.

Author:  specter404 [ 2016-Sep-03 3:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

True, but the order given was karn then play life and limb.

Author:  JJackson [ 2016-Sep-04 3:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

specter404 wrote:
True, but the order given was karn then play life and limb.

My bad. I assumed life and limb was already in play before you started animating things.

Author:  Everblight [ 2016-Oct-07 3:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

My opponent has a 1/1 Ghave, Guru of Spores and a bunch of tokens in play and I try to kill him with Harnessed Lightning; it goes like this right?

Target Ghave with Harnessed Lightning.
Pass Priority.
Opponent has to sac creatures to pump Ghave to 4/4 at least. If he doesn't and passes priority back, Harnessed Lightning resolves and I can spend 1 energy to kill Ghave.

Author:  Sovarius [ 2016-Oct-07 3:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

Yes, exactly.

He can't wait to activate abilities after you decide on energy consumption, because that is only done after the spell is already resolving.

Author:  JJackson [ 2016-Oct-08 1:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

And if he pumps to 4/4, you are free to spend 0 energy for 0 damage.

Author:  Drrakus [ 2016-Oct-29 12:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

Havengul Lich: If I choose to cast an opponent's Fleshbag Marauder from their graveyard and sacrifice it as part of it's own ability, am I able to cast it from their graveyard again? Or does it consider the Fleshbag Marauder to now be a separate card from when it was originally in their graveyard?

Author:  Sovarius [ 2016-Oct-29 1:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

It's a new object. You'll need to pay to activate the ability again. 4 mana to make all your opponents sac a creature.

Author:  Drrakus [ 2016-Dec-12 2:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

I found out a while ago that cards like Guard Gamazoa don't block trample. Does Protection from a color (specifically green) block the trample damage from a creature?

Author:  crokaycete [ 2016-Dec-13 12:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station

To trample over a creature, you have to assign lethal damage to it, ignoring any damage prevention effects that may kick in down the road. Typically, that means you only soak an amount of damage equal to the toughness of the creature.

Page 12 of 17 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/