Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Nov-12 1:46 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: General CMC
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-01 1:28 pm 

Joined: 2008-Jun-20 7:38 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Obviously, on the first time a general is cast, the CMC is equal to the base cost listed on the card.

What happens when you play the general the second and third time, etc?

Does a general's CMC increase? I'm asking for purposes of Kaervek's trigger when casting (I think at that point it does) and also for effects like the Dragon enchantments and Austere Command that check based on how much the creature costs once in play.

_________________
Current Generals:
Rafiq, Sharuum, Nekusar, Kresh, Mayael, Kaalia, Maelstrom Wanderer, Ghave, Ruhan, Mimeoplasm, Genju of the Realm, Phelddagrif, Derevi, Oloro, Jenara, Karrthus, Marath, Tariel, Riku, Karador, Numot, Damia, Sliver Overlord, Karn, Silver Golem


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-01 2:17 pm 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
It does not. The mana cost (and thereby converted mana cost) is what's printed on the card.

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-02 8:41 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-Jan-01 3:15 pm
Age: Drake
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Ingolstadt
can you please explain to me why this is so? What if a Trinisphere is in play and I play a Rhys the redeemed who died once during that game?

_________________
* Unaligned Onisu of Ninjutsu * Lizard of Hatred * Doom of the Naga *
First Strike, Beer Haste


This post is brought to you by the elders of the internet.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-02 10:18 am 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-09 4:17 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Calgary, AB
CR 203.4 clarifies that additional costs (including the +2N for Generals, according to the EDH rules) and replacement effects on total cost (ie: Trinisphere) are not part of the mana cost.

CR 203.3 defines that converted mana cost is based on mana cost.

_________________
Remember: Most legendary creatures have a gender, and most non-legendary ones don't! Use proper pronouns! ;)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-02 10:51 am 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Grinning_Demon wrote:
can you please explain to me why this is so? What if a Trinisphere is in play and I play a Rhys the redeemed who died once during that game?


Think of it this way. The cost is always the same. How much you have to pay can change.

The cheeseburger at Dairy Queen is always $3.99. If you have a coupon for $1 off, you pay $2.99--but when someone else asks how much it's going to cost them for a cheeseburger at DQ, you tell them $3.99.

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-02 11:52 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-Jan-01 3:15 pm
Age: Drake
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Ingolstadt
Thanks for the fast reply. I didn't know that optional and additional costs aren't part of the converted mana cost. I thought they would be treated like [X] (the real cost while on the stack).

_________________
* Unaligned Onisu of Ninjutsu * Lizard of Hatred * Doom of the Naga *
First Strike, Beer Haste


This post is brought to you by the elders of the internet.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-02 3:22 pm 

Joined: 2008-Jun-20 7:38 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Thanks for the quick responses!

_________________
Current Generals:
Rafiq, Sharuum, Nekusar, Kresh, Mayael, Kaalia, Maelstrom Wanderer, Ghave, Ruhan, Mimeoplasm, Genju of the Realm, Phelddagrif, Derevi, Oloro, Jenara, Karrthus, Marath, Tariel, Riku, Karador, Numot, Damia, Sliver Overlord, Karn, Silver Golem


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: