Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Nov-13 8:11 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 100 cards exactly? + Bosh and Memnarch
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-03 6:22 am 

Joined: 2007-Mar-04 10:52 pm
Age: Hatchling
Two points to bring up, first, why is it that we can't play with more than 100 cards in a deck? Would there be any disadvantage to saying at least 100? Seems like it would only strategically hurt the player with the bigger deck.

This may be on another thread but why is it that Bosh and Memnarch can't be played? Shouldn't the rule about only being able to play the colors that are in your general's casting cost be changed to mana symbols on your general. Currently there's a discrepancy between determining what colors a card is for purposes of including it in your deck, (Bosh can go only go in decks that include red etc.) and what colors your general allows you to play (Bosh only allows colorless because he costs colorless, but he's considered a red card because of the red activation therefore he can't be in a deck with Bosh as general). It doesn't seem like there's any reason for that.

*EDIT I meant to say why can't they be played as generals.


Last edited by Destavi on 2009-Apr-05 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-03 6:42 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Sep-21 8:22 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Flavor monkeys stole your good time.
4 Serious.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-03 8:06 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Mar-18 9:17 am
Age: Drake
Location: Luna
You're welcome to play Bosh and Memnarch, just not as generals.

These are just the limits of the format. There's nothing that say you can't make an exception in your play group or that you can't build your 109 card highlander deck and play it as casual. Last night I ended up using a couple of EDH decks as plain old casual decks b/c nobody was down for EDH.

_________________
It's not vintage or legacy, it's EDH, baby!

I like that its a format that I can use Sol Ring in. A man can never have enough Sol Rings.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 100 cards exactly? + Bosh and Memnarch
AgePosted: 2009-Apr-03 8:11 am 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Destavi wrote:
Two points to bring up, first, why is it that we can't play with more than 100 cards in a deck? Would there be any disadvantage to saying at least 100? Seems like it would only strategically hurt the player with the bigger deck.

This may be on another thread but why is it that Bosh and Memnarch can't be played? Shouldn't the rule about only being able to play the colors that are in your general's casting cost be changed to mana symbols on your general. Currently there's a discrepancy between determining what colors a card is for purposes of including it in your deck, (Bosh can go only go in decks that include red etc.) and what colors your general allows you to play (Bosh only allows colorless because he costs colorless, but he's considered a red card because of the red activation therefore he can't be in a deck with Bosh as general). It doesn't seem like there's any reason for that.


There is no discrepancy. The rules are very clear. By the rules, Memnarch and Bosh (who is not in any way, shape, or form a red card, it just has an ability with a red activation cost) invalidate themselves for inclusion into your deck because they have mana symbols on them that aren't in their mana cost.

Your local group may do as you wish, vis-a-vis Bosh and Memnarch as Generals and the number of cards in your deck.

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dee123 and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: