MTG Commander/Elder Dragon Highlander
http://mtgcommander.net/Forum/

*EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules
http://mtgcommander.net/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=18255
Page 1 of 8

Author:  osieorb18 [ 2016-Jun-27 2:22 am ]
Post subject:  *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

So Meld was just spoiled... Given that being a general sticks with the card, when melded, will Brisela still be a general if they meld, or not?

Essentially, if Bruna is your general and Gisela is in your deck, then you meld them, will Brisela be your general, given that part of it is and part of it isn't?

http://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/ar ... 2016-06-27

ImageImage

Image


Alternatively...

Quote:
Well, considering "Commander-ness" is a property of the physical card itself... and technically combat damage only comes from the half that has power/toughness... that means only Brisela only deals Commander Damage if the Commander was Bruna.

Author:  niheloim [ 2016-Jun-27 2:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

I think commander damage is the issue.

If Bruna is your commander (seems the likely choice given the abilities) once melded into Brisela how are we handling the quality of being a commander? If its a quality of the card and not the creature, and Brisela is an object composed of two cards... is she half commander? all commander? none?

I don't think any solution is the obviously correct one, aside from saying Brisela hits as though she were you commander for the sake of making the cards playable.

Author:  tgambitg [ 2016-Jun-27 2:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

Well... looking at the cards, Bruna is the bottom half of the meld, so if she was your commander, she deals the combat damage.

But in all seriousness, I think that the melded cards should still be your commander together, if just because the card itself is still swinging at you.

Author:  niheloim [ 2016-Jun-27 3:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

tgambitg wrote:
Well... looking at the cards, Bruna is the bottom half of the meld, so if she was your commander, she deals the combat damage.

But in all seriousness, I think that the melded cards should still be your commander together, if just because the card itself is still swinging at you.

I agree. I think the commanderness of the one would override the non-commanderness of the other.

I think that jives better with the idea that the card is the commander, regardless of the state of the creature

Author:  niheloim [ 2016-Jun-27 3:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

Can I complain now that Meld requires that you own the cards as well as control? How lame.

Author:  kaldare [ 2016-Jun-27 4:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

niheloim wrote:
Can I complain now that Meld requires that you own the cards as well as control? How lame.


I'd guess that making the rules able to deal with the potential of half a permanent vanishing when a player leaves the game was simply not worth the fuss. lol

As for Meld commander, there is no reason to think they'd work any differently then split cards would. The rules ask a split card a yes/no question, the rules get a Yes back if conditions are fulfilled by either half.
Is Assault/Battery red? The answer is just Yes, not "Yes and No"
Is Gisela your commander? Again, by the same logic, the answer is simply Yes, she is. Thus, she deals commander damage.

Author:  Sheldon [ 2016-Jun-27 4:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

Choice 1: speculate on what stuff means
Choice 2: wait for either a Matt Tabak tweet or the FAQ

It's option 2 for me.

Author:  cryogen [ 2016-Jun-27 4:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

Sheldon wrote:
Choice 1: speculate on what stuff means
Choice 2: wait for either a Matt Tabak tweet or the FAQ

It's option 2 for me.

I want a third option where we make up a ruling and then get blindly furious at you guys for not knowing how to Magic right.

Author:  osieorb18 [ 2016-Jun-27 4:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

cryogen wrote:
Sheldon wrote:
Choice 1: speculate on what stuff means
Choice 2: wait for either a Matt Tabak tweet or the FAQ

It's option 2 for me.

I want a third option where we make up a ruling and then get blindly furious at you guys for not knowing how to Magic right.


Sounds like the best option. /sarcasm.

Can we also blame the RC for the rarity disparity?

Author:  Kaltovei [ 2016-Jun-27 5:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

Main thing I'm wondering about is how they will work as a Commander with various effects.

Will we be forced to pick only one and have the other in the 99? How will this interact with things like Exile effects? Seems extremely anti-fun to have the point of the Commander(melding) so easily and permanently ruined by one single exile effect that everyone at a table will likely have plenty of. This is if it makes the half that is the Commander go the the Command Zone and the other half stay exiled. I'm sure there's other issues I haven't though of yet but this one bothers me the most.

I know you can house rule it to let both sit in the Zone, but it just seems like it'd save a lot of trouble and be logical to make this one exception be allowed as a dual-commander or something. You'd still have to cast both halves and they'd both accrue the tax separately of course.

Author:  niheloim [ 2016-Jun-27 5:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

Sheldon wrote:
Choice 1: speculate on what stuff means
Choice 2: wait for either a Matt Tabak tweet or the FAQ

It's option 2 for me.

Those two are not mutually exclusive.

Author:  Natedogg [ 2016-Jun-27 5:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

A Matt Tabak tweet said that at as long as either half is your commander, it will count.

Quote:
Combat damage dealt by Brisela counts for the Commander rule if either half is your commander. #MTGEMN


https://twitter.com/TabakRules/status/747491137623982081

Author:  Matronix [ 2016-Jun-27 5:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

Ruling is that it will count as Commander DMG

https://twitter.com/TabakRules/status/747491137623982081

Author:  Spectrar Ghost [ 2016-Jun-27 5:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

cryogen wrote:
Sheldon wrote:
Choice 1: speculate on what stuff means
Choice 2: wait for either a Matt Tabak tweet or the FAQ

It's option 2 for me.

I want a third option where we make up a ruling and then get blindly furious at you guys for not knowing how to Magic right.


So you're a Reddit user?

Author:  Bantheprophet [ 2016-Jun-27 5:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: *EMN Spoiler* Meld and General rules

https://twitter.com/TabakRules/status/747491137623982081

Page 1 of 8 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/