MTG Commander/Elder Dragon Highlander
http://mtgcommander.net/Forum/

Timing question for casting spells.
http://mtgcommander.net/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=18282
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Bull [ 2016-Jul-24 9:17 am ]
Post subject:  Timing question for casting spells.

Ok. I just want to make sure of some stuff:

1) Locket of Yesterdays does not interact with Gisa and Geralf because once it goes on the stack the cost is determined then and then you pay it?

2) Since once a spell goes on the stack first and the cost is determined after it goes on the stack can I use mana short to drain my opponent so he can't pay the casting cost?

I always assumed that you pay the mana first then it goes on the stack.

Author:  niheloim [ 2016-Jul-24 9:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Timing question for casting spells.

Bull wrote:
Ok. I just want to make sure of some stuff:

1) Locket of Yesterdays does not interact with Gisa and Geralf because once it goes on the stack the cost is determined then and then you pay it?

2) Since once a spell goes on the stack first and the cost is determined after it goes on the stack can I use mana short to drain my opponent so he can't pay the casting cost?

I always assumed that you pay the mana first then it goes on the stack.

spell announced and moved to stack, cost determined (and a bunch of other stuff), cost paid.

people often tap mana first first.

locket of yesterdays isnt going to cheapen cards played as one-ofs in the yard using gisa and geralf.

Author:  Bull [ 2016-Jul-24 10:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Timing question for casting spells.

niheloim wrote:
spell announced and moved to stack, cost determined (and a bunch of other stuff), cost paid.

people often tap mana first first.

locket of yesterdays isnt going to cheapen cards played as one-ofs in the yard using gisa and geralf.


So it's countered before it resolves and the cost is paid? I'm so lost : /

Author:  Idaelus [ 2016-Jul-24 10:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Timing question for casting spells.

Bull wrote:
2) Since once a spell goes on the stack first and the cost is determined after it goes on the stack can I use mana short to drain my opponent so he can't pay the casting cost?

I always assumed that you pay the mana first then it goes on the stack.


No, Mana Short wont work that way.

There is no priority change during the selection of modes/targets/determining cost of the spell etc. It's broken into steps, but it's all one large action.

So no, you wont get the chance to play your Mana Short until after all the costs of the spell are determined and played.

Author:  specter404 [ 2016-Jul-24 11:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Timing question for casting spells.

It's worth starting off with the process for casting a spell:
1) annouce the spell and move it into the stack
2) choose all modes, alternate casting and targets
3) apply cost increase effects
4) apply cost reduction effects
5) apply cost setting effects
6) pay costs

Also note that all of this happens within the process of casting a spell and no-one gets priority at any point during this process. So for this reason you cant cast mana short in between these steps to mess up the person's spell. You can cast it before hand if you get priority, however they could cast an instant in response.

As for locket and Gisa/Geralf, you move the spell from the graveyard to the stack in the first step and apply cost reduction in the third step so when you go to check the locket's effect it wont find any cards with the same name in the graveyard.

Author:  Bull [ 2016-Jul-24 6:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Timing question for casting spells.

That sucks. Oh well. At least secrets of the dead work with it right?

Author:  specter404 [ 2016-Jul-24 7:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Timing question for casting spells.

Yep, secrets works just fine.

Author:  JJackson [ 2016-Jul-25 1:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Timing question for casting spells.

So does River Kelpie.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/