Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Jul-20 10:41 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Rule regarding Murmuring Bosk
AgePosted: 2016-Dec-12 7:11 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Jun-02 3:54 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Germany, near Berlin
As you so kindly have cleaned up my mess, I feel urged to say thank you.

I actually confused "land" with "land card" - and I am a bit embarassed of this. I guess it happens when one (me) doesn't read quotes carefully enough. :oops: Sorry about that. Can I have an excuse in not being a native English speaker?

As for the "truckload"... yes, that was a little exaggeration. Take it as stylistic means and not too serious.

_________________
If your only tool is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

Generals:
too many, and always changing... except:

Rakdos, Lord of Riots (Demon Tribal)
Melek, Izzet Paragon (Dragonstorm) -> these must stay because of a house rule


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rule regarding Murmuring Bosk
AgePosted: 2016-Dec-12 8:02 am 

Joined: 2014-Jul-26 11:35 am
Age: Elder Dragon
papa_funk wrote:
305.6 doesn't actually interact with color identity. That's why we need 903.5d

Incorporating intrinsic text into color identity would flip how extort works, too. We could make it happen, but status quo seems fine.


So just to confirm my understanding, all basic lands have a colourless CI and it is only rule 903.5d that prevents me from putting mountains in my mono-white deck?

_________________
Favourite Deck:
Ghost Council of Orzhova

Playing Online:
Noyan Darr & Sedris Zombie Guy


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rule regarding Murmuring Bosk
AgePosted: 2016-Dec-13 1:20 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
specter404 wrote:
So just to confirm my understanding, all basic lands have a colourless CI and it is only rule 903.5d that prevents me from putting mountains in my mono-white deck?

Pretty much, yeah.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rule regarding Murmuring Bosk
AgePosted: 2016-Dec-13 3:50 am 

Joined: 2008-Jan-25 8:26 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Calgary
specter404 wrote:
So just to confirm my understanding, all basic lands have a colourless CI and it is only rule 903.5d that prevents me from putting mountains in my mono-white deck?

To be more specific/pedantic you can include classic duals, shocks and battle lands in that list. None of them have a mana symbol in their printed rules text.

_________________
"(P)art of the joy of Commander (is) being forced to work with what we (have), even if it (isn't) optimal. Optimal usually isn't that interesting." - papa funk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rule regarding Murmuring Bosk
AgePosted: 2016-Dec-13 9:09 am 

Joined: 2009-Apr-21 3:38 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Palm Springs Area, CA
SnailSlug wrote:
niheloim wrote:
These two rules tell me that a land with the Forest type does not, in fact, have a green mana symbol in its text box, hidden or otherwise. Rather, the mana production of lands with basic land types is a game rule (not unlike how creatures have the intrinsic ability to attack and block unless otherwise stated) and not any kind of readable ability on the card.


Can you literally not read? What part of a card's text do you think isn't a game rule? What the hell do you think is going to happen when someone casts Sudden Spoiling with a Life and Limb out?
As a general rule, no I cannot literally read. I prefer to figuratively read.


Thor_Naadoh wrote:
niheloim wrote:
(not unlike how creatures have the intrinsic ability to attack and block unless otherwise stated)


It's, in fact, very unlike: Attacking is not an ability - neither intrinsic nor written - it's a game action (or rather a turn-based action, but don't quote me on that one). The inability to attack is an ability, named defender, obviously.
Muraganda Petroglyphs would be a REALLY pointless card otherwise.


"Tap: Add G" IS an ability (recognizable by the colon marking it as an "activated ability" and by rule 305.6. you already quoted).


As for Rule 903.5d: if you carefully read through the Comprehensive Rules, you will find a truckload of rules we actually don't need, because they're written redundantly in different places. That's just to improve readability - you find most of the rules for a certain situation in one place without the need to follow a million references in the process.

I'm not using the word ability in the magic-ese sense, but in the normal English sense of being able to do something. Yes creatures do not have a printed ability in their text box that says they may attack, but they are granted the ability to attack by the rules of the game.

_________________
3DH4L1F3


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rule regarding Murmuring Bosk
AgePosted: 2016-Dec-13 10:07 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Aug-20 7:49 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: New Hampshire
Carthain wrote:
I was not including that as my example -- so I'm not sure why you attributed it to this

I mentioned it because Thor_Naadeu mentioned it in his "truckload of redundant rules" post, and that rule happens to NOT be redundant.

_________________
"The President's job - and if someone sufficiently vain and stupid is picked he won't realize this - is not to wield power, but to draw attention away from it." -- Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide tot he Galaxy Radio Transcripts predicting the future.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: