From the comprehensive rules:
Quote:
714.5. While controlling another player, a player makes all choices and decisions the controlled player is allowed to make or is told to make by the rules or by any objects. This includes choices and decisions about what to play, and choices and decisions called for by spells and abilities.
The decision to put one's commander into the command zone instead of exile (or graveyard, hand, library) is made by the controlling player.
Therefore, it's possible to exile a commander by controlling its owner and choosing not to apply the replacement.
This will effectively leave the card in exile until the game ends or another effect (such as
Pull from Eternity) allows to move it elsewhere.