Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Nov-19 6:01 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 3:11 am 

Joined: 2008-Aug-08 6:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rouen, France
What's the cmc of a hangerback walker on the stack? X or X+X?

_________________
Current decks:
Sydri's random pile of cards with "Artifact" on them
Scarab God Zombie Horde
Sissay 5c Superfriends
Morophon Eldrazi (5C Devoid)
Grenzo's Goblins


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 5:08 am 

Joined: 2015-Jan-14 2:58 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Whatever you paid for it, so 2x.

_________________
Deepglow Skate
Antis wrote:
I'm seriously suspicious of any card that makes Doubling Season look fair and reasonable.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 5:41 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
Whatever you paid for it, so 2x.

Not quite true. Usually true, but not quite 100%.

Something like a Sphere of Resistance or Feroz's Ban will alter how much you cost to not match the CMC of it on the stack.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 5:50 am 

Joined: 2008-Aug-08 6:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rouen, France
So paying 4 for a 0/0 with two +1/+1 counters is a 4cc spell on the stack?

Same for Astral Cornucopia?

_________________
Current decks:
Sydri's random pile of cards with "Artifact" on them
Scarab God Zombie Horde
Sissay 5c Superfriends
Morophon Eldrazi (5C Devoid)
Grenzo's Goblins


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 6:04 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Aug-20 7:49 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: New Hampshire
zimagic wrote:
So paying 4 for a 0/0 with two +1/+1 counters is a 4cc spell on the stack?

Same for Astral Cornucopia?

Yes. Astral Cornucopia for X=3 has a CMC of 9.

_________________
"The President's job - and if someone sufficiently vain and stupid is picked he won't realize this - is not to wield power, but to draw attention away from it." -- Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide tot he Galaxy Radio Transcripts predicting the future.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 6:17 am 

Joined: 2008-Aug-08 6:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rouen, France
Sid the Chicken wrote:
zimagic wrote:
So paying 4 for a 0/0 with two +1/+1 counters is a 4cc spell on the stack?

Same for Astral Cornucopia?

Yes. Astral Cornucopia for X=3 has a CMC of 9.


And for Metalwork Colossus it's 0, right?

_________________
Current decks:
Sydri's random pile of cards with "Artifact" on them
Scarab God Zombie Horde
Sissay 5c Superfriends
Morophon Eldrazi (5C Devoid)
Grenzo's Goblins


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 7:21 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Jun-02 3:54 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Germany, near Berlin
#1: An X in the mana cost of a spell is the value you chose for it as you cast that spell.
#2: You must choose X=0, if you cast it "without paying its mana cost."
#3: An X in the mana cost of a permanent or any card in a zone other than the battlefiueld or stack equals 0.

So yes, Colossus counts Walking Ballista Chalice of the Void as zero.

EdiThor:
fixed.

_________________
If your only tool is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

Generals:
too many, and always changing... except:

Rakdos, Lord of Riots (Demon Tribal)
Melek, Izzet Paragon (Dragonstorm) -> these must stay because of a house rule


Last edited by Thor_Naadoh on 2017-Mar-05 6:18 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 10:28 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Aug-20 7:49 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: New Hampshire
Thor_Naadoh wrote:
#1: An X in the mana cost of a spell is the value you chose for it as you cast that spell.
#2: You must choose X=0, if you cast it "without paying its mana cost."
#3: An X in the mana cost of a permanent or any card in a zone other than the battlefiueld or stack equals 0.

So yes, Colossus counts Walking Ballista as zero.

This. I'd dig up the actual comp rules entry.... but I'm too lazy right now.

_________________
"The President's job - and if someone sufficiently vain and stupid is picked he won't realize this - is not to wield power, but to draw attention away from it." -- Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide tot he Galaxy Radio Transcripts predicting the future.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-04 11:47 pm 

Joined: 2016-Feb-13 2:14 pm
Age: Dragon
Location: Orlando, Florida
Thor_Naadoh wrote:
#1: An X in the mana cost of a spell is the value you chose for it as you cast that spell.
#2: You must choose X=0, if you cast it "without paying its mana cost."
#3: An X in the mana cost of a permanent or any card in a zone other than the battlefiueld or stack equals 0.

So yes, Colossus counts Walking Ballista as zero.

It's a minor issue, but Colossus doesn't look at the Ballista at all, since it's a creature.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-06 4:21 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2015-Mar-18 12:55 pm
Age: Drake
Sid the Chicken wrote:
Thor_Naadoh wrote:
#1: An X in the mana cost of a spell is the value you chose for it as you cast that spell.
#2: You must choose X=0, if you cast it "without paying its mana cost."
#3: An X in the mana cost of a permanent or any card in a zone other than the battlefiueld or stack equals 0.

So yes, Colossus counts Walking Ballista as zero.

This. I'd dig up the actual comp rules entry.... but I'm too lazy right now.

RULEBOOK wrote:
202.3d: When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an {X} in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 while the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it while the object is on the stack.

Is this the one?

_________________
The QFT Section
Sheldon wrote:
The cards didn't just warp the way the games were played, they warped how I was conceiving and perceiving the format. That's the sign of a problem.

Carthain wrote:
The idea that you should be able to build your deck however you want and still be competitive is false, and a bad idea to have. Taken to the extreme, that's like making a deck with no removal in it, and then complaining that you can't win because stuff your opponents play gets in your way.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-06 4:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Aug-20 7:49 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: New Hampshire
Wolfsbane706 wrote:
Is this the one?

Dingdingding! Johnny, tell him what he's won!

_________________
"The President's job - and if someone sufficiently vain and stupid is picked he won't realize this - is not to wield power, but to draw attention away from it." -- Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide tot he Galaxy Radio Transcripts predicting the future.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-06 6:04 am 

Joined: 2008-Aug-08 6:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rouen, France
Sid the Chicken wrote:
Wolfsbane706 wrote:
Is this the one?

Dingdingding! Johnny, tell him what he's won!


Well, Sid, tonight Wolfsbane will take away a playset of Shifting Walls! Well done Wolfsbane! :mrgreen:

PS: Thanks everyone!

_________________
Current decks:
Sydri's random pile of cards with "Artifact" on them
Scarab God Zombie Horde
Sissay 5c Superfriends
Morophon Eldrazi (5C Devoid)
Grenzo's Goblins


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-07 7:39 am 

Joined: 2014-Jul-26 11:35 am
Age: Elder Dragon
There really should be a thumbs up button, shifting wall, perfect. :D :D

_________________
Favourite Deck:
Ghost Council of Orzhova

Playing Online:
Noyan Darr & Sedris Zombie Guy


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Mar-08 1:14 pm 

Joined: 2013-Aug-20 4:37 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Boston
Wolfsbane706 wrote:
RULEBOOK wrote:
202.3d: When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an {X} in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 while the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it while the object is on the stack.

Is this the one?

I learned that one the hard way in Time Spiral draft when an opponent got my flashed back Conflagrate (discarding 5ish cards) with a Draining Whelk. :shock:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hangerback CMC?
AgePosted: 2017-Apr-24 9:58 am 

Joined: 2015-Mar-31 1:42 am
Age: Hatchling
Thor_Naadoh wrote:
#1: An X in the mana cost of a spell is the value you chose for it as you cast that spell.
#2: You must choose X=0, if you cast it "without paying its mana cost."
#3: An X in the mana cost of a permanent or any card in a zone other than the battlefiueld or stack equals 0.

So yes, Colossus counts Walking Ballista Chalice of the Void as zero.

EdiThor:
fixed.


X is 0 on the battlefield too


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: