MTG Commander/Elder Dragon Highlander
http://mtgcommander.net/Forum/

Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall
http://mtgcommander.net/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=18586
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Maluko [ 2017-Apr-23 12:16 am ]
Post subject:  Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall

If I cast Descent of the Dragons targeting Bladewing's Thrall while he's on the battlefield, does he return to the battlefield after the spell finishes resolving?

Author:  Sheldon [ 2017-Apr-23 12:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall

Yes. Here's how it breaks down:

You target Bladewing's Thrall (plus whatever else).
When Descent of the Dragons resolves, it destroys them (so BT is in the graveyard now).
X 4/4 Dragons etb, triggering BT.
DotD finishes resolving and players get priority.
The BT trigger goes on the stack (then normal stack stuff applies).

Note that BT triggers on ANY Dragon entering the battlefield, not just those under its owner's control.

Author:  Sovarius [ 2017-Apr-23 1:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall

^ This. You can trust him, i'm pretty sure Sheldon is like a Rules Advisor or some other kind of big shot :p

Author:  Sheldon [ 2017-Apr-23 9:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall

Level 0 Judge :)

Author:  Maluko [ 2017-Apr-24 4:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall

Thanks, Sheldon :D I figured that was the case, but I wasn't entirely sure of it because of the spell resolving all at once, and Thrall still being on the battlefield at the beginning of the resolution.

Author:  specter404 [ 2017-Apr-25 8:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall

I believe it is because you do everything on a spell in the order it is written. So you destroy the bladewing which means putting it into your graveyard, unless it's indestructible, then you put the dragons into play which trigger the bladewing. If it were written the other way around it wouldnt work

It being worded as destroy is also important since that is a specific game action. If it was "deal 10 damage to... then..." it wouldn't work because a creature doesn't die from damage until state based actions are checked after the spell completely resolves.

It's fairly likely this is already known, I am more confirming my own understanding of why the rule works the way it does.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/