Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Jul-17 1:12 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Skipping a phase rule
AgePosted: 2017-Dec-01 8:20 pm 

Joined: 2017-Nov-22 11:08 pm
Age: Hatchling
Hey guys I have another problem with rules.
What happens when Fatespinner is in play and at the start of my opponent's turn I activate Mirage Mirror's effect copying the Fatespinner? May he skip the SAME phase two times or, on its second choice, does he has to choose one between the rest of choices?

Thank you.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Skipping a phase rule
AgePosted: 2017-Dec-01 8:36 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Jul-18 9:59 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Palter wrote:
Hey guys I have another problem with rules.
What happens when Fatespinner is in play and at the start of my opponent's turn I activate Mirage Mirror's effect copying the Fatespinner? May he skip the SAME phase two times or, on its second choice, does he has to choose one between the rest of choices?

Thank you.

Point of order: You'd need to activate Mirage Mirror in the previous turn, as by the time you get priority in your opponent's next turn, your Fatespinner has already triggered and the Mirage Mirror/Fatespinner will have missed it's opportunity. Except you can't do that either, because MM's effect wears off at end of turn.

Let's assume instead you have Clever Impersonator doing the, uh, Impersonating. In that case your opponent is free to choose the same phase with both fatespinners, and because it specifies "this turn" and not "the next time <x> phase happens" nothing will get skipped twice, and essentially the second copy will do nothing.

_________________
"Degenerate, unfun decks generally come from degenerate, unfun players in my experience." - Cthulus Thrall

"- if this spell is played ten times in a given game then I suggest you warm up the tar and pluck some chickens" - tarnar

The internet's great at making noise, and poor at operating pants. There's gonna be half-dressed mobs screeching half-assed arguments for the rest of the 21st century - Kemev


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Skipping a phase rule
AgePosted: 2017-Dec-04 3:35 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
I second everything Viperion said.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Skipping a phase rule
AgePosted: 2017-Dec-04 4:15 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2016-Nov-27 2:39 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
I second everything Carthain said.

Also there's a ruling on Fatespinner: "If more than one Fatespinner affects you at the start of your upkeep, you can choose the same step or phase for each one."

_________________
Decks: Chaos colored dragons, Mathas, the Instigator (politics and mayhem).
Beloved precons: Atraxa, Praetors' Voice; Saskia the Unyielding; Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury.


Top
 Online Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 40 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: