Willbender wrote:
The Gatherer card FAQ even addresses any ambiguity by specifying that it's the "four-of" rule that's being talked about. Other rules that can limit it for reasons other than "how many copies of this can I include" will still limit it (format legality, color identity, deck limits, etc.).
I agree with you. You're interpretation based on explaining the rules and explaining what is meant by format legality is perfectly acceptable to me. Carthain asked me to challenge his explanation on page one, which is why I'm still responding.
Carthain wrote:
None of your examples are clarifications in the same way that the rats' ruling is a clarification. Yours are often "can/can't in X situation" while the rats is "how it works". So trying to treat the rulings in exactly the same manner is not going to get you the end result that you should.
There are no rulings like the relentless rats ruling that I know of, and I'm not going to read through gatherer in the hopes on finding one. The rulings I gave you are all worded differently because each situation and rule being referenced is different, thats the point each one applies explicitly to the situation being responded to.
You asked me to find rulings that have a narrow scope to demonstrate that gatherer rulings typically apply to specific situations and not as broad rule replacements.