Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Oct-17 8:15 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Should Pull From Eternity Hit Generals?
Yes. 63%  63%  [ 15 ]
No. 38%  38%  [ 9 ]
Total votes : 24
Author Message
 Post subject: Pull From Eternity?
AgePosted: 2007-Dec-19 9:22 pm 

Joined: 2007-Jun-04 6:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Gainsville, FL
Not as powerful as Riftsweeper, clearly, in terms of what it does to Generals, but it is similarly proactive in what it can do to, say a monored deck with no way to reanimate a general. Should it be usable on Generals? Obviously the normal rules would apply for it (no wishboard - just gets previously in-game cards that are removed or suspended).

I know single-card errata i annoying, so if someone plays this on your General, can you just re-RFG it and suck it up and pay the extra 2 colorless? I might be tempted to run this spell just to occasionally bump up the cost of a n obnoxious General preemptively now and again if someone is about to go off or something.

_________________
Growing Darkness, taking Dawn; I was me, but now he is gone - Metallica, "Fade to Black"


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2007-Dec-20 9:37 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-21 9:45 am
Age: Drake
It's no different than the fact that Generals have Protection from Karakas. They should have Protection from things that affect cards removed from the game. It's not annoying and easy to manage. Can't have it both ways - protection from riftsweeper but not pull from eternity? All or nothing.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2007-Dec-26 12:45 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-23 4:14 pm
Age: Drake
Isn't Pull From Eternity a non-problem in any case? It puts a face-up RFG card into the owner's graveyard, but from the EDH Rules Page:

-If a general would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, it's owner may remove it from the game instead. (This is a replacement effect.. the creature never goes to the graveyard and will not trigger abilities on going to the graveyard)

PFE doesn't even do anything - the General doesn't even change zones since it's a replacement effect not a triggered ability that applies on the General hitting the graveyard. It can't even be used to just make a player pay 2 more when he next casts his general because it doesn't count as 'being played', so the 2 mana penalty wouldn't apply to it being PFE'd.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2007-Dec-26 3:35 pm 

Joined: 2007-Jun-04 6:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Gainsville, FL
Cod wrote:
Isn't Pull From Eternity a non-problem in any case? It puts a face-up RFG card into the owner's graveyard, but from the EDH Rules Page:

-If a general would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, it's owner may remove it from the game instead. (This is a replacement effect.. the creature never goes to the graveyard and will not trigger abilities on going to the graveyard)

PFE doesn't even do anything - the General doesn't even change zones since it's a replacement effect not a triggered ability that applies on the General hitting the graveyard. It can't even be used to just make a player pay 2 more when he next casts his general because it doesn't count as 'being played', so the 2 mana penalty wouldn't apply to it being PFE'd.


Doh. I should read carefully before I post. I guess the cards as printed with the rules as are do absolutely nothing if the owner of the general in question just wants to leave the general RFG'd. I feel dumb. I think it got asked how the card worked during one of our games on generals, but that clears it up - it's useless on them.

_________________
Growing Darkness, taking Dawn; I was me, but now he is gone - Metallica, "Fade to Black"


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2007-Dec-27 10:17 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Sep-21 8:22 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Yeah but what if you want to do it to your own general? You know because he got lonely by himself.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2007-Dec-27 11:17 am 

Joined: 2007-Jun-04 6:34 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Gainsville, FL
warble wrote:
Yeah but what if you want to do it to your own general? You know because he got lonely by himself.


Or you are holding Breath of Life and the extra 5 for the 2 cards is a better play at time than paying an extra 5 billion for it.

That seems like a fair play - just like Living Wishing for your general. I'm down.

_________________
Growing Darkness, taking Dawn; I was me, but now he is gone - Metallica, "Fade to Black"


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-Jan-21 6:50 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-Jan-18 10:03 am
Age: Drake
Location: Where the streets have no wraith
Notice the 'may' in the

"-If a general would be put into a graveyard from anywhere, it's owner may remove it from the game instead. (This is a replacement effect.. the creature never goes to the graveyard and will not trigger abilities on going to the graveyard)"

_________________
Image
Current EDH decks: Garza Zol, Kagemaro
Work in Progress: Isperia, Sek'Kuar


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-Jan-21 3:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Sep-10 2:51 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rittman, OH USA
Basically Pull From Eternity isn't a problem :D
All it really says is ...

"Target general costs 2 more, unless they want to reanimate it."

_________________
My card alter blog: The Phyrexian Renaissance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-Jan-21 9:58 pm 

Joined: 2007-Dec-12 7:36 pm
Age: Dragon
yawg07 wrote:
Basically Pull From Eternity isn't a problem :D
All it really says is ...

"Target general costs 2 more, unless they want to reanimate it."


Not even, the general's cost remains the same. The cost only goes up for additional times it is played not when it is RFG'd.

_________________
iceage4life on MODO
Paper Decks: Sisay, Oona, Intet, Soknar, Sharuum the Gegemon, Nath, Sir Shandlar of Eberyn (Peasent)
Online: Garza Zol, Venser, Sisay, Ghost Council


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-Jan-21 10:07 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Sep-10 2:51 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rittman, OH USA
iceage4life wrote:
yawg07 wrote:
Basically Pull From Eternity isn't a problem :D
All it really says is ...

"Target general costs 2 more, unless they want to reanimate it."


Not even, the general's cost remains the same. The cost only goes up for additional times it is played not when it is RFG'd.


Wow, read the freakin' rules, eh?
Sorry you guys! ^_^;;;

I'll have to tell me buddy on Wednesday, I completely overlooked that it had to have been PLAYED to cost more. :oops:

_________________
My card alter blog: The Phyrexian Renaissance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: specter404 and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: