Login | Register

All times are UTC - 7 hours

It is currently 2019-Jul-22 9:27 pm

Post subject: Out of touch Old Man Needs Help
AgePosted: 2018-Aug-12 1:04 pm 

Hey folks,

I need some help. I've been sitting on my EDH decks for a few years now (more than that, in some cases) and now that 4 colour Commanders are a thing I'm going to build those decks and also update my others. Trouble is, I'm so far out of touch with what's been released in the last.... six? years that I have no idea where to start.

So, if I'm building these decks, what has been released recently that would fit well into them? I realise that's a pretty broad question. I may have a lot of Sheldon's Set Review articles to (re)read - I read them when they come out, but I don't really pay a lot of attention at the time because I wasn't looking to update my decks....

I need the most help with:
Ravos, Soultender and Tana, the Bloodsower - non-blue creature tokens
Ishai, Ojutai Dragonspeaker and Reyhan, Last of the Abzan - non-red +1/+1 counters
Damia, Sage of Stone - I dunno what this deck does
Colourless deck
5 Colour deck

The first two decks I have pretty much no idea what to do with other than having settled on a theme. In particular for Ravos and Tana, I have a Tolsimir Wolfblood deck which is already G/W tokens and I don't want just another deck that makes a ton of tokens, makes them big, and attacks with them. What do Red and Black add that can take the deck in a different direction? For Damia, it was just creatures with way more power (or ways to grow) so I could empty my hand every turn and have Damia refill it. Then it turned into my Silver bordered deck. Then it was going to be BUG storm, but the storm deck has changed (see next section). Now I just plain don't know what to do with it. For the colourless and 5-colour deck, I don't even know who my Commander will be.

I need help with:
Inalla, Archmage Ritualist - Grixis Wizards/Spells
Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder - Non-white Storm