Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Oct-22 4:58 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 242 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 17  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Sep-01 8:38 am 

Joined: 2016-Aug-15 1:21 pm
Age: Drake
Sorry to throw you guys a curveball, but I do have a question.

If I use Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury as my commander, play Mycosynth Lattice, make her a creature with Karn, Silver Golem, play Life and Limb, and then equip Freyalise with Runed Stalactite, what is her Power/Toughness/Amount-of-commander-damage-she-deals? And if her power/toughness is different from what Karn originally made it, can I use him again to make her power/toughness what he sets it to?

_________________
Commanders:
-The Ur-Dragon-Five Color Dragon Tribal Deck
-Nekusar, the Mindrazer-Hardcore Mill Deck
-Nahiri, the Lithomancer-Monowhite Soldier/Equipment Deck
-Sharuum the Hegemon-Esper Artifact Themed Deck
-Karador, Ghost Chieftain-Kamigawa Spirit Reanimator Tribal Deck
-Zedruu the Greathearted-Predictability is Weakness Themed Deck
-Nissa, Vastwood Seer/Nissa, Sage Animist-Monogreen Land Based Deck


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Sep-01 8:44 am 

Joined: 2011-Aug-18 3:35 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Drrakus wrote:
Sorry to throw you guys a curveball, but I do have a question.

If I use Freyalise, Llanowar's Fury as my commander, play Mycosynth Lattice, make her a creature with Karn, Silver Golem, play Life and Limb, and then equip Freyalise with Runed Stalactite, what is her Power/Toughness/Amount-of-commander-damage-she-deals? And if her power/toughness is different from what Karn originally made it, can I use him again to make her power/toughness what he sets it to?


It's going to be a 2/2 and no you can't reuse Karn.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Sep-01 8:52 am 

Joined: 2016-Aug-15 1:21 pm
Age: Drake
I forgot to ask in the first post, but what happens if Runed Stalactite gets destroyed/exiled while equipped to her before the end of the turn? Does Life and Limb completely overwrite the P/T that Karn gave her and makes her a 0/0?

_________________
Commanders:
-The Ur-Dragon-Five Color Dragon Tribal Deck
-Nekusar, the Mindrazer-Hardcore Mill Deck
-Nahiri, the Lithomancer-Monowhite Soldier/Equipment Deck
-Sharuum the Hegemon-Esper Artifact Themed Deck
-Karador, Ghost Chieftain-Kamigawa Spirit Reanimator Tribal Deck
-Zedruu the Greathearted-Predictability is Weakness Themed Deck
-Nissa, Vastwood Seer/Nissa, Sage Animist-Monogreen Land Based Deck


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Sep-01 12:13 pm 

Joined: 2014-Jul-26 11:35 am
Age: Elder Dragon
So this is a layering question primarily, which is fairly complex but i'll do my best to stick to the parts that matter.

We start with the walker which becomes an artifact and then an artifact creature, no problems.
Karn makes her a 5/5 artifact creature planeswalker.
With life and limb in play, when she is equipped with runed stalactite she becomes a saproling.
Both Karn's effect and Life and limb apply in the same layer, but because life and limb happened second, it's timestamp sits on top of Karn's so that it the one that takes precedence.
Frey is now a 1/1 saproling (and all other creature types) artifact creature planeswalker
the +1 part applies in the next layer so she ends up a 2/2.

You cannot use karn on her again because she is still a creature, and karn specifies non-creature artifacts only.

If runed stalactite is destroyed frey is no longer a saproling, which means life and limb no longer effects her, karn's effect still exists so she reverts to being a 5/5 artifact creature planeswalker.

_________________
Favourite Deck:
Ghost Council of Orzhova

Playing Online:
Noyan Darr & Sedris Zombie Guy


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Sep-02 3:02 am 

Joined: 2016-Aug-15 1:21 pm
Age: Drake
specter404 wrote:
You cannot use karn on her again because she is still a creature, and karn specifies non-creature artifacts only.


I don't know of a better way to put it, but I feel like a moron for forgetting this.

_________________
Commanders:
-The Ur-Dragon-Five Color Dragon Tribal Deck
-Nekusar, the Mindrazer-Hardcore Mill Deck
-Nahiri, the Lithomancer-Monowhite Soldier/Equipment Deck
-Sharuum the Hegemon-Esper Artifact Themed Deck
-Karador, Ghost Chieftain-Kamigawa Spirit Reanimator Tribal Deck
-Zedruu the Greathearted-Predictability is Weakness Themed Deck
-Nissa, Vastwood Seer/Nissa, Sage Animist-Monogreen Land Based Deck


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Sep-02 11:10 am 

Joined: 2013-Aug-20 4:37 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Boston
The timestamp on Life and Limb will be from when the enchantment entered the battlefield even if it wasn't applying to Freyalise until later. She ends up a 6/6.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Sep-03 3:38 pm 

Joined: 2014-Jul-26 11:35 am
Age: Elder Dragon
True, but the order given was karn then play life and limb.

_________________
Favourite Deck:
Ghost Council of Orzhova

Playing Online:
Noyan Darr & Sedris Zombie Guy


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Sep-04 3:59 am 

Joined: 2013-Aug-20 4:37 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Boston
specter404 wrote:
True, but the order given was karn then play life and limb.

My bad. I assumed life and limb was already in play before you started animating things.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Oct-07 3:32 pm 

Joined: 2010-Feb-17 1:06 pm
Age: Dragon
Location: Europe - Somewhere
My opponent has a 1/1 Ghave, Guru of Spores and a bunch of tokens in play and I try to kill him with Harnessed Lightning; it goes like this right?

Target Ghave with Harnessed Lightning.
Pass Priority.
Opponent has to sac creatures to pump Ghave to 4/4 at least. If he doesn't and passes priority back, Harnessed Lightning resolves and I can spend 1 energy to kill Ghave.

_________________
Play like you've got a pair.

I'm a big fan of plain old Greed. - intrepid
Greed is for pussies. Phyrexian Reclamation + Street Wraith -- twice the cost, four times the manliness. - Filth

Member of Project Every-Deck
Current EDH Decks
Mayael the Anima // Garza Sol, Plague Queen // Scion of the Ur-Dragon // Kresh the Bloodbraided // Rikku of Two Reflections // Kaalia of the Vast // Rafiq of the Many // Rakdos, Lord of Riots


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Oct-07 3:44 pm 

Joined: 2014-Sep-13 7:28 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Yes, exactly.

He can't wait to activate abilities after you decide on energy consumption, because that is only done after the spell is already resolving.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Oct-08 1:22 am 

Joined: 2013-Aug-20 4:37 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Boston
And if he pumps to 4/4, you are free to spend 0 energy for 0 damage.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Oct-29 12:13 pm 

Joined: 2016-Aug-15 1:21 pm
Age: Drake
Havengul Lich: If I choose to cast an opponent's Fleshbag Marauder from their graveyard and sacrifice it as part of it's own ability, am I able to cast it from their graveyard again? Or does it consider the Fleshbag Marauder to now be a separate card from when it was originally in their graveyard?

_________________
Commanders:
-The Ur-Dragon-Five Color Dragon Tribal Deck
-Nekusar, the Mindrazer-Hardcore Mill Deck
-Nahiri, the Lithomancer-Monowhite Soldier/Equipment Deck
-Sharuum the Hegemon-Esper Artifact Themed Deck
-Karador, Ghost Chieftain-Kamigawa Spirit Reanimator Tribal Deck
-Zedruu the Greathearted-Predictability is Weakness Themed Deck
-Nissa, Vastwood Seer/Nissa, Sage Animist-Monogreen Land Based Deck


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Oct-29 1:48 pm 

Joined: 2014-Sep-13 7:28 am
Age: Elder Dragon
It's a new object. You'll need to pay to activate the ability again. 4 mana to make all your opponents sac a creature.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Dec-12 2:09 pm 

Joined: 2016-Aug-15 1:21 pm
Age: Drake
I found out a while ago that cards like Guard Gamazoa don't block trample. Does Protection from a color (specifically green) block the trample damage from a creature?

_________________
Commanders:
-The Ur-Dragon-Five Color Dragon Tribal Deck
-Nekusar, the Mindrazer-Hardcore Mill Deck
-Nahiri, the Lithomancer-Monowhite Soldier/Equipment Deck
-Sharuum the Hegemon-Esper Artifact Themed Deck
-Karador, Ghost Chieftain-Kamigawa Spirit Reanimator Tribal Deck
-Zedruu the Greathearted-Predictability is Weakness Themed Deck
-Nissa, Vastwood Seer/Nissa, Sage Animist-Monogreen Land Based Deck


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Commander FAQ and Dumb Question Station
AgePosted: 2016-Dec-13 12:08 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-30 6:08 am
Age: Elder Dragon
To trample over a creature, you have to assign lethal damage to it, ignoring any damage prevention effects that may kick in down the road. Typically, that means you only soak an amount of damage equal to the toughness of the creature.

_________________
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
Cryocerete (sp?)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 242 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 ... 17  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: