Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Aug-24 11:23 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall
AgePosted: 2017-Apr-23 12:16 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Dec-25 1:37 am
Age: Elder Dragon
If I cast Descent of the Dragons targeting Bladewing's Thrall while he's on the battlefield, does he return to the battlefield after the spell finishes resolving?

_________________
Name: Night of the Ninja
General: Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow
Archetype: Aggro

Name: Enraged Wilds
General: Marath, Will of the Wild
Archetype: Aggro-Control

Name: Draconic Domination
General: The Ur-Dragon
Archetype: Midrange


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall
AgePosted: 2017-Apr-23 12:36 am 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Yes. Here's how it breaks down:

You target Bladewing's Thrall (plus whatever else).
When Descent of the Dragons resolves, it destroys them (so BT is in the graveyard now).
X 4/4 Dragons etb, triggering BT.
DotD finishes resolving and players get priority.
The BT trigger goes on the stack (then normal stack stuff applies).

Note that BT triggers on ANY Dragon entering the battlefield, not just those under its owner's control.

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall
AgePosted: 2017-Apr-23 1:40 pm 

Joined: 2014-Sep-13 7:28 am
Age: Elder Dragon
^ This. You can trust him, i'm pretty sure Sheldon is like a Rules Advisor or some other kind of big shot :p


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall
AgePosted: 2017-Apr-23 9:57 pm 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Level 0 Judge :)

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall
AgePosted: 2017-Apr-24 4:25 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Dec-25 1:37 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Thanks, Sheldon :D I figured that was the case, but I wasn't entirely sure of it because of the spell resolving all at once, and Thrall still being on the battlefield at the beginning of the resolution.

_________________
Name: Night of the Ninja
General: Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow
Archetype: Aggro

Name: Enraged Wilds
General: Marath, Will of the Wild
Archetype: Aggro-Control

Name: Draconic Domination
General: The Ur-Dragon
Archetype: Midrange


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Descent of the Dragons and Bladewing's Thrall
AgePosted: 2017-Apr-25 8:24 am 

Joined: 2014-Jul-26 11:35 am
Age: Elder Dragon
I believe it is because you do everything on a spell in the order it is written. So you destroy the bladewing which means putting it into your graveyard, unless it's indestructible, then you put the dragons into play which trigger the bladewing. If it were written the other way around it wouldnt work

It being worded as destroy is also important since that is a specific game action. If it was "deal 10 damage to... then..." it wouldn't work because a creature doesn't die from damage until state based actions are checked after the spell completely resolves.

It's fairly likely this is already known, I am more confirming my own understanding of why the rule works the way it does.

_________________
Favourite Deck:
Ghost Council of Orzhova

Playing Online:
Noyan Darr & Sedris Zombie Guy


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: