[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 379: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 379: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
MTG Commander/Elder Dragon Highlander • View topic - Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?

Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2020-Jan-19 12:08 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-21 7:55 am 

Joined: 2019-Feb-21 7:46 am
Age: Hatchling
There is a post from 2010 that if a commander is shuffled it should be distinguishable in library and it's location in library should be known (which card in library is it). Is it still true or not? What about a commander in hand, a morphed commander on the battlefield, a commander exiled faced down by another player (for example Gonti's ETB)?
Could I get an official, current ruling for that from somebody from Rules Committee?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-21 8:25 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
No, that's not true. It should be indistinguishable from other cards in your deck/hand/etc.

A commander in play will be able to be tracked: All players know the morph was played from the command zone, and each morph needs to be tracked to distinguish between them (you can't play 3 card monte with morphs in order to confuse players.)

As for a ruling on Gonti's ETB -- I'm not sure on that one.

Edit: For those curious, I believe the OP is talking about This post from Genomancer


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-21 12:38 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Jul-18 9:59 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Yeah I think the confusion here lies in the "always know the location" of a Commander. For hidden zones (library, hand, face-down in exile) that location is "in the library" or "in the hand" or "face down in exile"

I do have a follow up question though; If your Commander is and you play it as a morph from your hand, and then it hits an opponent without un-morphing, are you then obligated to reveal it as Akroma so the Commander damage counts?

_________________
"Degenerate, unfun decks generally come from degenerate, unfun players in my experience." - Cthulus Thrall

"- if this spell is played ten times in a given game then I suggest you warm up the tar and pluck some chickens" - tarnar

The internet's great at making noise, and poor at operating pants. There's gonna be half-dressed mobs screeching half-assed arguments for the rest of the 21st century - Kemev


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-21 5:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Jan-25 4:50 pm
Age: Elder Dragon


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-21 5:31 pm 

Joined: 2012-Apr-11 7:17 am
Age: Elder Dragon


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-21 6:22 pm 

Joined: 2019-Feb-21 7:46 am
Age: Hatchling
When you play a morph from your hand do you have to announce that it is your commander?
When somebody uses or does he have to inform everyone that the commander is in fact in exile (face down)?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 1:06 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 2:34 am 

Joined: 2012-Mar-31 11:52 am
Age: Elder Dragon
I don't have a citation, but if I recall correctly, the way it works now is that if a player is able to look at and see the face down exiled Commander they are obligated to give the owner the opportunity to apply the replacement effect and send it back to the command zone. Pretty much the only time you can face down exile a general is if it ended up in the library and you hit it with pyxis of pandemonium. Because you exile the top card face down without looking at it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 2:43 am 

Joined: 2009-Apr-21 3:38 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Palm Springs Area, CA
I'm still a little upset about facedown commanders.

I had dreams of Building Red Akroma and using Shenanigans and ... but no! Stupid rules.

_________________
3DH4L1F3


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 2:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2016-Nov-27 2:39 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
I'd be very interested to see an up-to-date (moreso than 2010) clarification from this from the RC, including on the scenario where we exile a card face-down from the library that might be a commander.

_________________
Decks: Chaos colored dragons, Mathas, the Instigator (politics and mayhem).
Beloved precons: ; ; .


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 2:53 am 

Joined: 2009-Apr-21 3:38 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Palm Springs Area, CA

_________________
3DH4L1F3


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 3:43 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
niheloim: You need to update whatever you are referencing. There is no 903.13 anymore.

903.11 is all about Brawl, and that's as high as 903 goes.

The rule you quoted is old, and no longer around (it didn't just shift numbers) as far as I can see.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 4:20 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Jan-25 4:50 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
@ cryogen
That rule is outdated see my previous post for the most recent rules information and links to their sources.

As for announcing your general is a facedown card when you first play it. I think it kinda inherently breaks the idea behind morph. I only announce/reveal it if it is relevant, like if it's about to do commander damage


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 5:44 am 

Joined: 2012-Mar-31 11:52 am
Age: Elder Dragon


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Different sleeve for commander when shuffled or not?
AgePosted: 2019-Feb-22 6:51 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: