Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Nov-11 12:47 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Clarification on Feather
AgePosted: 2019-Apr-15 8:00 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2011-Feb-07 3:37 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Danbury, CT
So Feather the Redeemed says: Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell that targets a creature you control, exile that card instead of putting it into your graveyard as it resolves. If you do, return it to your hand at the beginning of the next end step.

If I play Seize the Day for its flashback cost targeting Feather, Seize the Day returns to my hand, correct?
Same for Onward // Victory, playing Victory for its aftermath cost?

_________________
The deck-o-pedia


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarification on Feather
AgePosted: 2019-Apr-15 8:24 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Dec-03 3:16 am
Age: Elder Dragon
I believe if two things are trying to do something to your card, you pick which order they go on the stack... effectively choosing which one happens. So yeah, Feather is really good with Flashback.

_________________
Shabbaman wrote:
The usual answer is "the social contract", but I guess that is not what you are looking for. Try house rules.


With perfect mana, reasonable removal, disruption, and card advantage, we're back to pitchforks and torches. And it's about to get worse for those who do not enjoy the game as Richard Garfield intended, playing as few win conditions as possible and prompting concession after all hopes (and spells) are lost. - Shaheen Soorani


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarification on Feather
AgePosted: 2019-Apr-15 8:42 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Nov-27 4:39 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Midgard
Feather's ability and the second half of the Flashback ability are replacement effects. You get to choose which replacement effect applies since they are both trying to modify the same event.

_________________
Current:
Decklists are posted here. They can all be found in the Decklist Forum.


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarification on Feather
AgePosted: 2019-Apr-15 10:45 pm 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Previous answers are correct, and here's Eli Shiffrin's verification: https://twitter.com/EliShffrn/status/1115335850961694720

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarification on Feather
AgePosted: 2019-Apr-16 3:34 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Inkeyes22 wrote:
I believe if two things are trying to do something to your card, you pick which order they go on the stack

First, these are replacement effects, so they won't be on the stack.

Otherwise, usually you are correct that you get to choose the order of replacements. Be careful though, as I believe anything that has a Self-replacement effect will always take effect first over another replacement effect trying to replace the same event.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarification on Feather
AgePosted: 2019-Apr-16 9:58 pm 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Carthain wrote:
Inkeyes22 wrote:
I believe if two things are trying to do something to your card, you pick which order they go on the stack

First, these are replacement effects, so they won't be on the stack.

Otherwise, usually you are correct that you get to choose the order of replacements. Be careful though, as I believe anything that has a Self-replacement effect will always take effect first over another replacement effect trying to replace the same event.


Also correct. Self-replacements first.

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarification on Feather
AgePosted: 2019-Jul-03 10:55 pm 

Joined: 2017-Dec-23 4:51 am
Age: Wyvern
The same applies for Dreadhorde Arcanist and other cards that allow you to play instants/sorceries from your graveyard and exile them instead of putting them into the graveyard as they resolve. If they target a creature you control while Feather is on the battlefield, they'll come back to your hand at the beggining of the next end step :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: papa_funk and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: