[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 379: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 379: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
MTG Commander/Elder Dragon Highlander • View topic - A strange question about banding and trample

Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2020-Jan-17 3:40 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-13 2:57 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-01 5:25 pm
Age: Wyvern
I was put in a position where is was to my benefit to take damage and wanted to know if it was allowed

I had a 1/1 creature with banding and a 7/7 creature

My opponent (in question) has a 8/8 creature with trample and first strike

Is if he attacks and I block with both my creatures and I just assign the damage to me as trample in first strike combat and have my creatures kill it on normal combat or is that not allowed?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-13 3:07 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Dec-03 3:16 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Short answer: no



Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-13 3:31 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-01 5:25 pm
Age: Wyvern
Thx


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-13 4:01 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Yeah, you can have it assign all 8 damage to a single creature, so the remaining one can hit it back -- although in the situation you described, it wouldn't be enough to kill the attacking creature as it has first strike. (note, in that situation you also take 0 damage.)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-13 6:13 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-01 5:25 pm
Age: Wyvern
Ya I know that

when a with flying and with on the field is a group threat, I know thing are good


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-13 6:55 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-Dec-31 12:26 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
That is exactly the style I like to play :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-13 7:59 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2011-Feb-07 3:37 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Danbury, CT
All questions about banding are strange :)

_________________
The deck-o-pedia


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-19 4:15 am 

Joined: 2008-Jan-25 8:26 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Calgary
I have a blanket answer to all rules questions about banding.

"Please let's just not play cards with banding."

_________________
"(P)art of the joy of Commander (is) being forced to work with what we (have), even if it (isn't) optimal. Optimal usually isn't that interesting." - papa funk


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-19 6:37 am 

Joined: 2015-Jan-14 2:58 pm
Age: Elder Dragon


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-21 9:51 am 

Joined: 2014-Jul-26 11:35 am
Age: Elder Dragon
The essence of banding is simple, the amount of text required to explain it in the rules is not.

Any creature with banding, plus one creature without banding can be assigned together as a band when you attack or block. They remain individual permanents and don't share abilities.
If any part of a band is blocked, the whole band is blocked. If one part of the band is "removed from combat" the rest of the band continues as normal.
When attacking with a band, you decide how any blockers damage is assigned instead of the defending player.
When blocking with a band, you decide how the attackers damage is assigned instead of the attacking player.

The part that always makes it look particularly confusing is the fact that the refer to regular banding as well as bands with... (eg bands with soldiers) in the same rules, and it just reads incredibly awkwardly.

The question from the OP is answered by asking, could the attacking player normally have chosen to assign no damage the to blocking creatures and all to the player using trample. The answer is obviously no, and so goes the answer for when the creatures have banding. People over-complicate it, banding doesn't change any of the rules about how combat damage can be assigned, only who is making the choice.

_________________
Favourite Deck:
Ghost Council of Orzhova

Playing Online:
Noyan Darr & Sedris Zombie Guy


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-22 5:36 am 

Joined: 2015-Sep-14 9:53 am
Age: Wyvern


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-25 11:04 am 

Joined: 2014-Jul-26 11:35 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Right, well I'm just going back to the 'banding is friggen weird camp' and will stay there until it comes up and I have to work it out.

_________________
Favourite Deck:
Ghost Council of Orzhova

Playing Online:
Noyan Darr & Sedris Zombie Guy


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-26 12:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-Feb-29 5:57 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Duvall, WA


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-26 1:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2018-Mar-20 10:30 am
Age: Wyvern


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A strange question about banding and trample
AgePosted: 2019-Aug-26 2:00 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2018-Mar-20 10:30 am
Age: Wyvern


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron